Untitled Document


January 21, 2011


(Newark, NJ) – The Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders honored the 2010 Group III State Champion Millburn High School Girls Tennis Team during its Wednesday, January 20, 2011, meeting held at the Hall of Records.

Members of the Group III State Champion Millburn High School Girls Tennis Team (center of photo) were on hand when the team was honored by the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders during their January 20th meeting held at the Hall of Records in Newark.  Pictured with the team members (surrounding them from left to right) are Freeholder President Blonnie Watson, MHS Athletic Director Dr. Ted D’Alessio, Head Coach Elliot Lovi, Freeholder Rufus Johnson, Freeholder Carol Clark, Freeholder Patricia Sebold and Freeholder Linda Lordi Cavanaugh.  (Photo by Glen Frieson)

The team captured the 2010 Group III Championship by defeating Ramapo High School, 3-2, on October 20, 2010, at Mercer County Park in West Windsor, New Jersey.  En route to the championship match, the team also defeated Somerville High School (5-0), Warren Hills High School (5-0), Mendham High School (4-1) and Holmdel High School (3-2). 

By winning the Group III championship, the Millburn High School Girls Tennis Team also gained entry into the Tournament of Champions where they defeated Pt. Pleasant Beach High School (Group I State Champions), 5-0, before falling short in their semi-final match with Westfield High School, the Group IV and eventual TOC Champions.

The 2010 team finished their state championship season with a record of 25 match victories with only 2 losses.  They also captured the Essex County Championship and the Super Essex Conference (American Division) Championship with an undefeated conference record of 11-0.  They finished the season ranked by The Star-Ledger as the #4 team in New Jersey, the #1 Group III team, and the #1 team in Essex County.

The 2010 team continued a remarkable record of excellence compiled by the Millburn High School girls tennis program by winning the Group III and North II Sectional championships for the fifth consecutive year, the Essex County championship for the sixth straight year, and conference championships for the eight consecutive year.

The team was comprised of the following members: Seniors Emily Bary, Sara Fiedler, Danielle Kohn, Perri Wertheimer, JiHyun Bang and Janine Miller; Juniors Jenna Berkenkamp, Alexandra Gray, Amy Osserman, Carolyn Rauch, Julia Schaevitz, Samantha Schaevitz, Alexandra Stone and Shirley Zhang; Sophomores Patricia Chau, Tatiana Cherne, Lauren Cohen and Rebecca Mandel; and Freshmen Stephanie Chen Schmidt and Maddie Stearns.  The team was coached by Elliot Lovi and Bill Wickenheisser.

Download This Release

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
For Additional Information:
Gary Kroessig, Public Information
Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders
973-621-4452 (phone) 973-621-5696 (fax)

Board of Chosen Freeholders, County of Essex
Hall of Records - Room 558, 465 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd., Newark, New Jersey 07102
Tel: (973) 621-4486 Fax: (973) 621-5695