Untitled Document

June 13, 2014


Team Completes 3-Peat Capturing Group 4 State Championship and Tournament of Champions

(Newark, NJ) – The Millburn High School Boys Tennis Team, winners of the both the 2014 Group 4 State Championship and Tournament of Champions, was honored by the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders during its Thursday, June 12th, meeting at the Hall of Records in Newark.  The team accomplished an amazing “3-peat” by winning both titles for the third year in a row, and finished the season as the #1 boys tennis team in New Jersey.  The Board’s commendations were sponsored and presented to the team by District 4 Freeholder Leonard Luciano of West Caldwell and Freeholder Vice President Patricia Sebold of Livingston.

Freeholder Leonard Luciano (far left) and Freeholder Vice President Patricia Sebold (far right) honored the State Champion Millburn H.S. Boys Tennis Team at the Hall of Records on Thursday, June 12th.  They are pictured above with members of the team: front row (left to right) Jeremy Bader, Alex Shedlin, Jake Aronskind and Coach William Wickenheisser; and back row (left to right) Will Besen, Jonathan Atwater, Evan Imegwu (captain), Tyler Schick and Charlie Shanker.  PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON

Welcoming the team to the Hall of Records, Freeholder Luciano said, “You guys are here so often that this must feel like your home away from home, and it’s great to welcome you back!”  He added, “Gentlemen, we’ve pretty much run out of superlatives to describe your accomplishments.  The only thing left for us to say is, ‘Wow!’ and ‘Congratulations!’, and that it is our honor to present you with these Commendations.”

“Here we are again”, said Head Coach Bill Wickenheisser, “and I want to thank you for having us back”, adding that the team really appreciates that the freeholders take the time to recognize their accomplishments.  He thanked the administration at Millburn High School, “for supporting us and always giving us what we need to excel both on and off the court”, and congratulated his players for all they’ve achieved.  He also spoke about the individual accomplishments of two players, Evan Imegwu and Tyler Schick: Imegwu, a senior, was named the “Essex County Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year” by the Men of Essex; and Schick, a junior, was named a National High School Tennis All-American, The Star-Ledger’s “Essex County Tennis Player of the Year”, the Men of Essex’s “Outstanding Tennis Athlete of the Year”, won his second consecutive Essex County singles title, and was a state championship singles finalist.

Senior team captain Evan Imegwu thanked the freeholders, saying “It’s really an honor to be back”.  He also spoke about his belief that “unity, on and off the court, supporting each other day-in and day-out, is one of the things that propelled us to victory.  I’m just extremely proud of every member of this team”, said Imegwu.  “They’ve been great friends.”

Freeholder Sebold concluded the presentation by offering complimentary words to the coaches, saying, “The team is truly lucky to have such great coaches.  You (players) are all wonderful, but I know that what the coaches do is important, too.  So congratulations to all of you.”

Prior to the state tournament competition, the Millers won the Millburn Tennis Challenge and completed an undefeated (12-0) season in the American Division of the Super Essex Conference.  In state tournament play, the team first defeated Linden (5-0), Columbia (5-0), Ridge (4-1) and then Westfield (5-0) to win the North 2, Group 4 Sectional Championship on May 19th, before going on to defeat West Windsor Plainsboro South (3-2) and then Montclair High School (5-0) to capture the Group 4 State Championship on May 21st.  In the Tournament of Champions they first defeated Summit (5-0) and then Haddonfield (3-2) to capture the 2014 TOC title on Friday, May 30th.

The team finished its season with an overall 29-2 record, continuing the program’s unparalleled record of success that has seen 29 consecutive state sectional championships (39 overall), six consecutive state group championships (23 overall), and three consecutive Tournaments of Champions titles (7 overall).

The team is comprised of: senior captains Jonathan Duan, Jason Ginsburg, Evan Imegwu and Keith Knopp; juniors Jake Aronskind, Jonathan Atwater, Will Besen, Tyler Schick and Alex Shedlin; sophomores Jeremy Atwater, Jordan Beacham, Austin Jia and Darren Ting; and freshmenJeremy Bader and Charlie Shanker.  The team was coached by Bill Wickenheisser and Lee Robinson.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
For Additional Information:
Gary Kroessig, Public Information
Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders


Board of Chosen Freeholders, County of Essex
Hall of Records - Room 558, 465 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd., Newark, New Jersey 07102
Tel: (973) 621-4486 Fax: (973) 621-5695