Untitled Document


           June 21, 2012


The 2012 Montclair H. S. Crew Team was honored by the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders for its outstanding 2012 season during the Board’s June 20th meeting held at Montclair Town Hall.  The Board’s Commendations were presented to the team and coaches by Freeholder Brendan Gill (front row, center) of Montclair.  (PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON)

(Newark, NJ) – During its Wednesday, June 20th, meeting held at Montclair Town Hall, the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders honored the Montclair High School Crew Team for its outstanding 2012 season.  The Board’s Commendation was sponsored and presented by District 5 Freeholder Brendan Gill of Montclair to members of the team, their coaches and Assistant Principal of Athletics John Porcelli.

The team’s highly-successful season was highlighted by outstanding results at three prestigious competitions: the Garden State Scholastic Championships held on April 28th on the Cooper River in Camden; the Stotesbury Cup Regatta held May 18th-19th on the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia; and the Scholastic Rowing Association of America National Championships Regatta held May 25th-26th, also on the Cooper River in Camden.  MHS crews won 5 Gold, 3 Silver and 3 Bronze medals at the Garden State Championships (qualifying 10 crews to compete at the National Championships); won 3 Gold, 1 Silver and 1 Bronze medal at the Stotesbury Cup (where team members won more individual medals than any other competing school and the team finished second on the medal table as the most successful U. S. team); and won 2 Gold and 1 Silver medal at the National Championships.

While the Board’s Commendation applauded the success of the entire team, the presentations highlighted the accomplishments of members of the five crews (boats) that won gold medals at one or more of the three prestigious regattas:

The Girls Junior Varsity 8 Crew won Gold Medals at the National Championships, Stotesbury Cup and Garden State Championships;

Girls Junior Varsity 8 Crew: (from left to right) Megan Ayala, Chantal Naegeli, Courtney Stith, Emily Schnittman, Alex van Inwegen, Hannah Steffe, and Andrea Schneider (not present: Shay Loos and cox Siri Dolce-Bengtsson).  (PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON)


The Boys Junior Varsity 4 Crew won Gold Medals at the National Championships, Stotesbury Cup and Garden State Championships;

Boys Junior Varsity 4 Crew: (from left to right) Nate Goodman, cox Amelia Dunnell, Hayden Kline and Jake Stepansky (not present:  Justin Murphy).  (PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON)

The Boys Varsity Quad Crew won Gold Medals at the Stotesbury Cup and Garden State Championships;

Boys Varsity Quad Crew: (from left to right) Reid Cucci, William Burstein, Christophe Delaunay and Aaron Dowd.  (PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON)


The Girls Varsity Lightweight 8 Crew won a Gold Medal at the Garden State Championships;

Girls Varsity Lightweight 8 Crew: (from left to right) Christine Leslie, Arielle Mann, Charlotte Calliarec, Megan Astarita, Lila Rosenman and Alex Cruz (not present: Gabby McNeill, Anne Kim and cox Clare Sinofsky). (PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON)

The Boys Freshman Quad Crew won a Gold Medal at the Garden State Championships:

Boys Freshman Quad Crew: (from left to right) Adam Pollack, Lucas Deupree, Owen Daly-Smith, and James Pew.  (PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON)

The Montclair High School Crew Team, the Mounties, is comprised of the following members: Senior Girls Megan Astarita (Captain), Gabby McNeill (Captain), Lila Rosenman (Captain), Alex Cruz, Ava Jordan, Anne Kim, Christine Leslie, Kaitlyn Maglione, Chelsea Newman, Claire Sinofsky, Sara Skutch and Becky Treen; Senior Boys Christophe Delaunay (Captain), Aaron Dowd (Captain), Andrew Katzmann (Captain), John Albanese, William Burstein, Reid Cucci, Leo Foglizzo and Simon Ross; Junior Girls Madda Aase-Remedios, Charlotte Cailliarec, Rachel Cucci, Siri Dolce-Bengtsson, Rachel Dowd, Amelia Dunnell, Jessica Farber, Alyssa Handelman, Theresa Meyer, Andrea Schneider, Hannah Steffe, Daria Thames and Alex van Inwegen; Junior Boys Nate Goodman, Hayden Kline, Tarek Masri, Justin Murphy and Jake Stepansky; Sophomore Girls Megan Ayala, Jaime Knoth, Shay Loos, Arielle Mann, Chantal Naegeli, Christy Rose, Mary Rossi-Conway, Jordan Sabourin, Emily Schnittman, Jessa Silver and Courtney Stith; Sophomore Boys Sasha Baker, Janek Bielski, Teddy Cahill, Brendan Connell-French, Matias Hahn, Max Kim, Abe Kolko, Dylan Lewis, Christian Martinez, Joe Michalitsianos, Ethan Ottens, Alex Park, Eli Pimpao, Nathan Pollack, Gabe Rosenthal, Noah Schifrin and Jonathan Silverman; Freshman Girls Nina Alvarado-Silverman, Rebecca Brownsword, Julia Burstein, Katie Calabrese, Isabella Corriere, Kat Dlugos, Molly Farber, Zoe Foglizzo, Teddi Mattox, Noelle Mayers, Emily Pollack, Christina Sokolic, Leslie Templeton, Danique van Winden and Jenna Walpole; and Freshman Boys Theo Aase-Remedios, Owen Daly-Smith, Lucas Deupree, Lucian Jones, James Pew, Adam Pollack and Ethan St. John.

The team was coached by Head Coach Jeremy Michalitsianos, Coaches Lorna Rundle and Boris Alvarez, and Assistant Coaches Reuben Mann, Steve McNeilly, Julian Canha and Jason Stahl. 


Download This Release

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
For Additional Information:
Gary Kroessig, Public Information
Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders



Board of Chosen Freeholders, County of Essex
Hall of Records - Room 558, 465 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd., Newark, New Jersey 07102
Tel: (973) 621-4486 Fax: (973) 621-5695