Untitled Document


June 21, 2012



The 2012 Millburn H. S. Boys Tennis Team was honored by the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders for having won both the 2012 Group 3 State Championship and the Tournament of Champions during its June 20th meeting held at Montclair Town Hall.  The Board’s Commendations were presented to the team by Freeholder Vice President Patricia Sebold (front row, center) and Freeholder Carol Clark (back row, far right).  The team members and coaches pictured above are: (front row, left to right) Josh Landau, Coach Bill Wickenheisser, Jon Duan, Andrew Nolff, Jason Ginsburg, Tyler Schick, Captain Rob Xie and Jonathan Atwater; and (back row, left to right) Keith Knopp, Teddy Moskovitz, Dean Koman, Captains Jared Wishnow, Mac Johnson and Nicky Chen Schmidt, Brian Alter and Coach Lee Robinson.  (PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON)

(Newark, NJ) – During its Wednesday, June 20th, meeting held at Montclair Town Hall, the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders honored the Millburn High School Boys Tennis Team for having won both the 2012 Group 3 State Championship and the Tournament of Champions.  The team captured its Group 3 State Championship by defeating by defeating Hopewell Valley H.S. on May 25th, and then won the Tournament of Champions on May 31st by defeating previously-unbeaten West Windsor-Plainsboro High School South.  The Team finished its season with an overall record of 27-2 and ranked as the #1 team in New Jersey.

The Board’s Commendation was co-sponsored by Freeholder Vice President Patricia Sebold of Livingston and Freeholder Leonard Luciano of West Caldwell.  Freeholder Sebold and Freeholder Carol Clark of East Orange presented the Commendations to the team members and their coaches, Bill Wickenheisser and Lee Robinson during the ceremony.

In State Tournament play, the Millburn High School Boys Tennis Team first defeated Belleville High School (5-0), West Morris High School (4-1) and then Chatham High School (5-0) to win the North 2, Group III Sectional Championship on May 18th, before going on to defeat Moorestown High School (3.5-1.5) and then Hopewell Valley High School South (4-1) to capture its Group 3 State Championship, propelling the team into the Tournament of Champions where it first defeated Holmdel High School (3-2) in the semi-finals before topping West Windsor-Plainsboro South (5-0) for the title.

In the lead-up to State Tournament competition, the Team also won the Millburn Tennis Challenge as well as the Essex County Tournament Championship, its 12th since 1970, and completed an outstanding 9-1 season in the American Division of the Super Essex Conference.

This year’s Millburn High School Boys Tennis Team, the Millers, continued the program’s unparalleled record of success that has seen 27 consecutive Sectional Championships (37 overall), 4 consecutive Group Championships (21 overall), and the capturing of 5 Tournaments of Champions.

The Team is comprised of the following members: Seniors Brian Alter, Nicky Chen Schmidt, Andrew Giles, Mac Johnson, Jared Wishnow and Robert Xie; Juniors Dean Koman, Josh Landau, Teddy Moskovitz and Andrew Nolff; Sophomores Jonathan Duan, Jason Ginsburg and Keith Knopp; and Freshmen Jonathan Atwater and Tyler Schick.  It was coached by Bill Wickenheisser and Lee Robinson.

Download This Release

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
For Additional Information:
Gary Kroessig, Public Information
Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders



Board of Chosen Freeholders, County of Essex
Hall of Records - Room 558, 465 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd., Newark, New Jersey 07102
Tel: (973) 621-4486 Fax: (973) 621-5695