Untitled Document


           June 21, 2012




The 2012 Non-Public B State Champion Montclair Kimberley Academy Boys Lacrosse Team was honored by the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders during its Wednesday, June 20, 2012, meeting held at Montclair Town Hall.  The Commendation was presented to members of the team and coaches by Freeholder Brendan Gill of Montclair (front row, 3rd from left).  (PHOTO BY GLEN FRIESON)

(Newark, NJ) – During its Wednesday, June 20th, meeting held at Montclair Town Hall, the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders honored the Montclair Kimberley Academy (MKA) Boys Lacrosse Team for having won the 2012 Non-Public B State Championship by defeating The Pingry School, 9-7, on May 30, 2012, in Somerville.

In NJSIAA State Tournament competition, the MKA Boys Lacrosse Team, the Cougars, first defeated DePaul High School (14-1) and then Morristown-Beard School (12-5) before going on to defeat Pingry for the school’s first-ever NJSIAA Non-Public Group B State Championship, thereby qualifying to participate in its first-ever Tournament of Champions.

Leading up to NJSIAA State Tournament play, the Team compiled an outstanding conference record of 9-1 in capturing its second consecutive championship of the New Jersey Interscholastic Lacrosse League’s Waterman Division.  The team then went on to also capture its second consecutive New Jersey Prep B State Tournament Championship by first defeating Princeton Day School (8-5) and then Rutgers Prep (9-8) in the championship game on May 15, 2012.

The Team, which concluded its State Championship Season with an outstanding overall record of 17 victories with only 5 losses, is comprised of the following members: Seniors Michael Borges, Cam Brazill, Patrick Karole, John Kubinak, Kyle Morris, Alex Morse, Dean Paolucci, Dylan Parker, Blake Rohde, Craig Schweitzer and Maurice Walsh; Juniors Alex Amari, Rowan Diano, C.J. Geering, Jon Kingsley, Matt Lane and Mark Phillips; Sophomores Will Bator, Ryan Fennelly, Tommy Fusco, Brendan Pepe, Spencer Turkington and Sam Zinn; and Freshmen Bradley Bergman, Michael Miller, Danny Nasti, Dan Yanes and Lukas Yeshita

The Team was coached by Head Coach Paul Edwards, Associate Head Coach Ernie Mosca, and Assistant Coaches Brian Kuser and Mike Strader, and received administrative support from Headmaster Thomas W. Nammack and Athletic Director Todd C. Smith.


Download This Release

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
For Additional Information:
Gary Kroessig, Public Information
Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders



Board of Chosen Freeholders, County of Essex
Hall of Records - Room 558, 465 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd., Newark, New Jersey 07102
Tel: (973) 621-4486 Fax: (973) 621-5695